Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

Cowboy IEM Academy Purpose

The School of Industrial Engineering and Management (IEM) at Oklahoma State University (OSU) has a rich history and legacy. IEM at OSU granted its first IE degree in 1926, MS degree in 1948, and the first PhD degree in 1960. Since then, thousands of BS, MS and PhD degrees have been awarded. One of six Schools in the College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology (CEAT), IEM has been represented and led by giants in Industrial Engineering. These include: winners of the Frank and Lillian Gilbreth award, the highest award given by the Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers (IISE); members of the National Academy of Engineering; IISE presidents; American Society for Quality (ASQ) presidents; Association of Energy Engineers (AEE) presidents; senior examiner for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality award; and Fellows of IISE, AEE, American Production and Inventory Control Society (APICS) and ASQ. One of the School Heads, H.G. Thuesen, co-invented the parking meter, the first of which was installed in Oklahoma City in 1935. In addition, IEM has produced many distinguished alumni who have or are currently in senior leadership positions in industry and academe.

The School of Industrial Engineering and Management (IEM) has established the Cowboy Academy of Industrial Engineering and Management to accomplish several goals:

  • Recognize the accomplishments of IEM alumni
  • Harness their expertise and talent for advancing IEM so it can continue to produce distinguished alumni
  • Have Academy members serve as role models for current students
  • Help enhance IEM’s visibility
  • Serve as a sounding board for the School
  • Help with special projects.

The mission of the Cowboy Academy of Industrial Engineering and Management is for graduates to achieve their most valued and rewarding careers.

Click here for the Academy bylaws. 

To learn more about the individual members of the Cowboy Academy, click here