Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

Faculty and Students Recognized at IIE Annual Conference in Montreal

Faculty and students from the OSU School of Industrial Engineering and Management participated in the 2014 Institute of Industrial Engineers Annual Conference on June 2nd in Montreal, Canada and garnered numerous awards.

Dr. David Pratt received the prestigious Innovations in Curriculum Award for his accomplishments in creating an extremely efficient course preparation system for OSU IEM graduate school students. The courses are designed to highlight major topics within IEM subjects, but not delve deeply. These single credit courses can be taught online and allow a more diverse group of students to enter into the IEM graduate school.

Dr. Satish Bukkapatnam, nominated by Dr. William Kolarik, received the Technical Innovation in Industrial Engineering Award. Dr. Bukkapatnam is now with Texas A&M University.

Numerous Spring 2014 graduates and current students were recognized for their excellence as well as faculty members. Erin Lee, a recent graduate placed first in in the South-Central Regional Student Paper Competition sponsored by John Deere for her senior design project which was mentored by Dr. Baski Balasundaram. Her project for Dr. John Nazemetz’s class, entitled “Process Improvement in Stillwater Medical Center’s Same Day Surgery Department” was one of nine final papers selected for the paper competition.

Emily Greer and Zachary Kelch, recent graduates, both received the James W. Barany Student Award of Excellence. Ian Giese, IEM senior received the Process Industries Division’s Best Student Paper Award for his summer internship paper entitled “Michelin Recyclable Material Planning Tool.” Giese, mentored by Dr. Baski Balasundaram. IEM Graduate student Diana Rodriguez received the John L. Imhoff scholarship, her adivsors are Dr. Manjunath Kamath and Dr. Ricki Ingalls.