Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

News & Announcements


Dr. Manjunath Kamath receives 2013 Regents Distinguished Teaching Award

The School of IE&M is proud to announce that Dr. Manjunath Kamath is one of nine OSU faculty members to be named a recipient of the 2013 Regents Distinguished Teaching Award by the OSU Board of Regents. This is the 23rd year outstanding faculty members across the university have been recognized for their expertise and dedication to teaching.

Kristina George Receives 2013 St. Patrick’s Award

Dr. Camille Deyong and Kristina GeorgeSchool of IE&M is proud to announce that Kristina George (B.S., May 2013) is one of only five recipients of the 2013 St. Patrick’s Award. Recipients of this CEAT award are selected by a panel of faculty, administration and students.

Dr. Baski Balasundaram Receives the 2013 Halliburton Outstanding Young Faculty Award

The Halliburton young faculty award recognizes outstanding contributions to the college by a faculty member aged 40 years or younger, or with 5 or fewer years in a full-time academic position. The recipient is selected by a committee consisting of the Dean or his designee, a previous award recipient, and a senior faculty member from each division of CEAT.

Dr. Kamath Receives 2013 Lockheed Martin Award

The Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Teaching Excellence Award was instituted to recognize and encourage teaching excellence in the College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology at Oklahoma State University. Only two CEAT faculty members are recognized annually with this award.

Congratulations Dr. Kamath!

Rachel Seo Receives Dean’s Outstanding Senior Award

The School of IE&M is proud to announce that the 2013 Dean’s Outstanding Student Award was given to Ms. Rachel Seo (B.S., 2013).

CEAT Outstanding Senior embodies the passion and work ethic all students should aspire to have. Not only was Rachel involved with a multitude of leadership activities, but she also possesses the personal drive for success evident in all areas of her life.

IEM Students Awarded 2013-2014 MHEF Scholarships

IEM students Darnell Bortz, Eric Gilbert, Emily Greer, and Juan Ma were awarded scholarships for the 2013-2014 academic year by the Material Handling Education Foundation.

IEM Doctoral Student Diana Rodriguez Recognized At Transportation Consortium

Diana Rodriguez receiving award

Diana Rodriguez, a doctoral student in IEM, placed second at the Ph.D. level student competition during the 1st Annual Heartland Transportation Consortium sponsored by the Oklahoma Transportation Center (OkTC). The competition was held during April 2-4, 2013 in Oklahoma City with the goals of fostering student research and encouraging regional collaboration between students in order to facilitate building a diverse, high-performing transportation workforce.

Justin Whisenant places second in the Undergraduate Student Paper Competition

Justin Whisenant placed second in the Undergraduate Student Paper Competition held during the 2013 IIE South Central Regional Conference, Feb 7--9, 2013, hosted by the University of Houston. Justin presented the paper based on his senior design project with team members Austin Riggs and Daniel Wilkinson, titled "Webco Industries, Inc. Steel Coil Optimization."  Congratulations Justin!

OSU IIE student chapter organizes the "Green Belt in Six Sigma" certification program

OSU IIE student chapter organized the "Green Belt in Six Sigma" certification program that is approved and administered by the national IIE. This is the first time we have had an event of this type in the department and the turn-out was excellent. Over 50 undergraduate and graduate students participated and received their certificates.

2013 ISERC Best Paper Award for the Operations Research Track

IEM Ph.D. student Juan Ma and Dr. Balasundaram received the 2013 ISERC Best Paper Award for the Operations Research Track for their paper titled "Solving Chance-constrained Spanning k-Core Problem via Decomposition and Integer Programming."